What is ELAHERE?

What is ELAHERE?

Published by BroadPharm on October 16, 2023

ELAHERE (Mirvetuximab Soravtansine-gynx) is an ADC drug developed by Immunogen and approved by the FDA in November 2022. It applies to adult patients with platinum-resistant epithelial ovarian, fallopian tube, or primary peritoneal cancer who are positive for the folate receptor alpha (FRα) and have previously undergone one to three systemic treatment regimens.

ELAHERE is an innovative ADC that incorporates a cleavable linker known as Sulfo-SPDB (1-(2,5-dioxopyrrolidin-1-yl)-oxo-4-(pyridin-2-yldisulfanyl) butane-2-sulfonic acid), which covalently attaches the payload, DM4, a potent anti-tubulin agent (small molecule), to the mirvetuximab antibody, a chimeric IgG1 monoclonal antibody that targets FRα, as described in Figure 1.

Figure 1: Synthesis of Antibody-maytansinoid conjugate bearing sulfonate linker (J. Med. Chem. 2011, 54, 3606-3623)

The total molecular weight of ELAHERE's active pharmaceutical ingredient (API) is approximately 150 kDa. On average, each antibody molecule is linked to 3.4 DM4 molecules.

Figure 2: ELAHERE with glutathione cleavable Sulfo-SPDB linker attaching antibody to payload

ADC Linker Supplier

As a leading worldwide supplier of bioconjugation linkers, BroadPharm offers a wide array of PEG linkers and ADC linkers to empower your advanced research.

Journal Reference

1. Member institutions. Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology, 2023;

2. Genetic/familial high-risk assessment: Breast, ovarian and pancreatic. National Comprehensive Cancer Network, 2023;

3. Novel Drug Approvals 2022. Food and Drug administration, 2023;

4. Novel Drug Approvals 2022. Food and Drug administration, 2023;

5. Business Wire. (n.d.). Immunogen announces FDA accelerated approval of ELAHERETM (Mirvetuximab Soravtansine-gynx) for the treatment of platinum-resistant ovarian cancer. ImmunoGen, Inc.

6. FORWARD I: a Phase III study of mirvetuximab soravtansine versus chemotherapy in platinum-resistant ovarian cancer, Kathleen N Moore, Ignace Vergote, Ana Oaknin, Nicoletta Colombo, Susana Banerjee, Amit Oza, Patricia Pautier, Karim Malek, and Michael J Birrer, Future Oncology 2018 14:17, 1669-1678